Sophia (Not Coppola)

No Fame, No Gain | November 2, 2006

There was this one time when I wanted to give up.

It was just after coming back from vacation – yes, this vacation, the one you’ll uTube and iTune and watch over and over until it makes you late for whatever cocktail party handbag launch birthday fete you’ve got. But right after, I wanted to give up, because Sebastian wasn’t calling and my tan lines weren’t staying and the whole thing was just rotten.

I mean, if beauty is in the guy of the beholder, and Sebastian wasn’t calling, then I was a total mess, right?

So I refused to get out of bed. My mom caught me when I stood her up at Tartine for brunch at Tartine. She stomped into my room and said, “Sophia, this is behavior I would expect from your stepmother and not from you.” Talk about people in glass houses not throwing shoes. Yikes.

I said, “Mom, I’m screwed. I’m 22 and I’m not famous yet. We just filmed this whole thing at the beach and I’m sure I look awful – not unpretty awful, like terribly mean awful – because I shoved Jenny into that pool and now Sebastian won’t even call me. They’re going to be laughing at me harder than one of those poor kids on Parental Control. I’m not even an It Girl. Socialite Rank hasn’t placed me. Nobody’s compared me to Edie Sedgwick. I didn’t get to do the Burberry campaign. I haven’t starred in a Genet play where my couture collection is slammed all over the stage as the set. My life is over and nobody even knows about it!”

And mom said, “No Sophia. You’re lucky that nobody is obsessed with you yet. Isn’t it sad that some see your friends as “number three” or “the ones in the Feria ads” instead of the really amazing women they are? And aren’t you lucky you can still show people that?”

So I got up and threw on some Splendid tank dress, and I totally loved my mom right then.

But.

When I got home, I started obsessively looking at Gemma Ward’s MySpace profile? And I was like, damn, I have a lot of work to do.

And then Sebastian called…

PS – Eva and I are going shopping tonight, should make me feel a little better

Posted in In My Life

2 Comments »

  1. i hope that when i move into the city in two years that i am having brunch at tartine. i liked this a lot, almost as much as i like looking at gemma’s myspace 😉

    Comment by jen — November 2, 2006 @ 11:22 pm

  2. Gemma’s MySpace is classic. Yours is cute too.

    Comment by You're So Jane — November 5, 2006 @ 8:27 am


Leave a Reply

